Feature Idea: Benchmarking Sharepoint 2013

I am new to New Relic and also considering using it for benchmarking Sharepoint 2013 performance. I am interested to know whether this .net agent and Sharepoint Designer conflict issue is resolvable. I am interested in both the APM and Browser monitoring, but also want Sharepoint Designer to continue to work as we use it a lot.

New Relic edit

• I want this, too
  • I have more info to share (reply below)
  • I have a solution for this

0 voters

We take feature ideas seriously and our product managers review every one when plotting their roadmaps. However, there is no guarantee this feature will be implemented. This post ensures the idea is put on the table and discussed though. So please vote and share your extra details with our team.

@peng_zhang The quickest way to resolve the issue is to make sure the agent’s Browser configuration is set to the following:

<browserMonitoring autoInstrument="false"/>

This will at least prevent the issue from manifesting immediately. As a workaround you can try to manually instrument the pages using the .NET API to add the Browser header to specific pages you won’t be pulling into designer. Alternatively you could use the Copy/Paste method to inject the full script into the pages.

However, this may not be ideal so we can certainly file a feature request for better integration of Sharepoint 2013 systems, specifically aimed at Designer. Let me know if that sounds like an acceptable path and I can get started on the feature request.

@ehulburt this is critical for us. SharePoint 2013 is a strategic platform and SharePoint Designer support is required.

Hey @Daniel5 - I have added your request for our product managers. Thank you!

1 Like

Hi,