Download on the App Store

Learn more

Close icon

How can I record my all real-time data from New Relic Custom Event

insights
mobileapp
real-time-database

Hello,

My name is Thong, i’m a mobile developer, right now i have a question about using New Relic Ingsights.
I want to saving real-time data from my apps to NewRelic Insights, like FireBase database. I tried to use NewRelic.recordCustomEvent to record my custom data, but it’s not real-time, i have to wait 5-10 minutes the data must push to NewRelic Insights. And when I want to export to .csv file to save data to another computer, the data have been recorded within 5 latest minutes since i export the .csv file, i want to save all data from the NewRelic Insights dashboard.
Can you guys show me how to export all of data from my NewRelic Insights custom dashboard and make the data real-time?? Help me!

Hi @thong,

I understand you would like to see your custom events reported to the dashboard in realtime. I believe the best solution would be to adjust the harvest cycle for the mobile agent . The default for the agent’s harvest cycle is 600 seconds, but that can be manually adjusted within your application to collect data more frequently.

In iOS, you can background the app to force a harvest of events, and additional payloads, like crash data, are sent upon terminating and restarting the app.

For Android, backgrounding the app will send event data, but crash data is sent when crashes occur, unlike iOS, the app does not require a relaunch to send that data.

Below, I’ve linked some documentation outlining how to adjust your harvest cycle’s setMaxEventBufferTime for both iOS and Android. Please let me know if you have any other questions.

iOS - https://docs.newrelic.com/docs/mobile-monitoring/new-relic-mobile-ios/ios-sdk-api/set-max-event-buffer-time

Android - https://docs.newrelic.com/docs/mobile-monitoring/new-relic-mobile-android/android-sdk-api/set-max-event-buffer-time

-Danyel

Thank you so much @dmurray !