New Relic Lite Accounts Upgraded to Free Plan

Good news! The promotion that gave New Relic Lite account customers unlimited access to New Relic One expires February 28th, 2022. Instead of reverting back to the limited access, Lite accounts will be automatically upgraded to our perpetual free tier, which includes full New Relic One access.

That means that you can use New Relic to monitor, troubleshoot and set alerts for your entire stack, including APM, Infrastructure Monitoring, Digital Experience Monitoring, Applied Intelligence, and more.

The free tier plan provides:

  • Up to 100GB of telemetry data ingest per month. (Only $0.25 per GB per month beyond), including standard data retention levels of 8 days and up.
  • 1 free Full user with access to the entire platform.
  • Unlimited free Basic users who can ingest, query, dashboard, and alert on your data.

FAQs

Do I need to do anything?
No. All your relevant New Relic One dashboards, instrumentation, and alerts will remain the same.

Do I need to pay to continue using New Relic One?

No. Your New Relic customer Lite account will be automatically moved to our free tier, which includes:

  • 100GB per month of free data ingest from any source.
  • 1 free full user.
  • Free unlimited basic users.
  • Unlimited alerts, queries, dashboards, and proactive anomaly detection transactions.

If you’re over these free tier limits, you’ll be prompted to add a credit card to continue using New Relic One. However, you’ll only be billed for GBs or users above the free limit each month going forward.

What happens if I go over my monthly free data limit or want to have more than 1 Full user?

With New Relic One, you only pay for what you use beyond the free limits. Our simplified pricing on Standard includes the following:

  • $0.25 per GB ingested per month beyond your first free 100GB of data per month for all your events, metrics, traces, and logs on Telemetry Data Platform.
  • $99 per additional Full user (up to 5 Full users) per month for New Relic One’s Standard plan, which includes APM, Infrastructure Monitoring, Digital Experience Monitoring (Browser, Mobile, Synthetics), Logs in Context, Serverless Monitoring, and more.

Visit https://newrelic.com/pricing to learn more about volume discounts, advanced support options, and more via our Pro and Enterprise plans.

Additional terms and conditions apply. Visit newrelic.com for details.

How do I view and manage my usage?

  • Log in to one.newrelic.com.
  • Head to the account settings or administration dropdown under your user name.
4 Likes

Is there any way to downgrade to the previous limited access Lite account?

Hi @mkwan, to answer your question, no, there is no way of downgrading back.

Well that’s not good…

@dfugate - We’ve definitely made some big changes, but we do think you’ll find the new Free Forever plan even better than the lite version of the original New Relic. The new Free tier gives you access to the entire platform, so you’re not limited with what you can do with your data. If you have any specific questions about the plan, we would love to help you with them.

I understand that, but from our side it is a “cost” issue. We are staying under 100GB a month currently. But we have 10 users. 1 user is the owner, but is no longer at our company. I’ve downgraded most of the other users to “Free basic plan”. Our goal is to have one login, but I am unable to create logins. We need to removed the “owner”, and insure we have 1 login that has full access. Please advise - thank you! -Doug [Redacted by New Relic]

Gotcha @dfugate - we can help you get the owner of your account changed so that you can better manage users. I’m getting a case started for you, so be on the lookout for an email from our team.

We have the same issue, can you help us verify we are at one user so we can add a credit card?

Hi @alex176,

Welcome! I have submitted an internal support ticket to the account team to assist with this. Please be on the lookout for an email from them directly.

We have free plan and can not fit into 100gb constraint. If we add a card to pay 0.25$ per 1 GB over that limit for couple of months, can we downgrade to free tier back again and remove card? We need the performance monitoring for couple months now and with high possibility not any more in couple of months period.

Hello @kevin.leuvering -

Great question, thanks for asking. If you are on our Free plan and go over the 100GB limit, you will have to add a card and accept the charges to keep using New Relic. Once your card is on file, you will only be charged if you exceed the 100GB limit. Your account is not upgraded (i.e. you do not get the additional users etc. of a Standard plan), you are just charged for the overages.

In order to make sure that you have the right tools for managing your data ingest, here are a couple of documents that are really useful:

I definitely recommend setting up alerts on your usage data. And if you have any trouble setting them up, please let us know.

Thank you for your response, but my question was a bit different. I know we will be charged over 100gb and not before that, but I asked If we add card now, can I remove it in the future? Maybe I don’t want to be charged in addition in the future and just want my account to stop “working” (like it is doing now)instead of paying from my card.

And you mention in your comment that i can add my card to free plan without upgrading. I don’t see that possibility from UI:

It asks for upgrade to Standard plan in order to allow me to apply for 0.25$ per 1GB option.

Hey @kevin.leuvering,

I have created a case on your behalf with our accounts team to help you out with this issue. Please be on the lookout for an email from them. If there is anything else we can help with please do not hesitate to ask and I hope you have a great day!