[Python] Sampling transaction ingestion

I’m looking for some very clear instruction on how to sample transaction ingestion on APM (using the ini file in a python project). The docs used to be great and clear, and they have become anything but with self-referential loops of example-less content.

Hello @stormstrike. Welcome to the Explorers Hub.

While I am not a support engineer and unable to provide you with a clear example on this, I am looping in a support engineer to assist. I would also like to leave you with some documentation surrounding sampling: https://docs.newrelic.com/docs/data-apis/understand-data/event-data/new-relic-event-limits-sampling/

Hi @stormstrike

If you would like to control the sampling of transaction data using the newrelic.ini file, I believe you’ll want to use event_harvest_config.harvest_limits.analytic_event_data. Analytics event data refers to Transaction event data. For more information, please see Event Harvest Configuration.

I understand that the configuration setting analytic_event_data might not be clear and have brought this up with our teams.

Hope this helps!

1 Like

@ntierney - thank you for the response. I’ve tried that setting both in the ini and the env variable equivalent to no avail. Perhaps I am not describing what I am trying to lower correctly:

https://i.imgur.com/dDkENkv.png

The Metrics is what’s currently and consistently pushing us over our quota. Any help to sample or limit that would be appreciated.

Hi, @stormstrike: I am confused (by New Relic, not you :slight_smile:): I tried to use these queries to figure out what is generating so much data. This query shows that you are sending about 11 GB of metric data per day:

But when I break them down by metric name, they don‘t total close to 11 GB:

Also, I have no idea what newrelic.internal.usage is. Sorry that is not much help; I wanted to provide some additional detail for Support.

1 Like

Aha, found it!

Now, how can you reduce it? I don‘t know.

2 Likes